Dr Abiy Ahmed Ali is the elected chairman of EPRDF replacing PM Hailemariam



Abbay Media News
Yassin Ibrahim

Today the council of Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) elected Dr Abiy Ahmed Ali as chairman of the front by a majority vote, it is reported.

Dr Abiy A. Ali was elected as chairman of the Oromo People’s Democratic Organization replacing Lemma Megersa on February 22, 2018 in a bid to take the prime ministerial position vacated by the resignation of PM Hailemariam Desalegn on February 15, 2018. Mr Demeke Mekonnen of the Amhara National Democratic Movement (ANDM) is elected as vice-chairman of EPRDF.

The EPRDF council, that has 180 members from each the four front members contributing 45, met last Tuesday (3/20/18) and has been in deliberation until today with an interruption over the weekend due to disagreement on the way forward. The council meeting was preceded by a week long Executive Committee meeting that set the agenda for the council.

According to EPRDF tradition, the chairman of the front is nominated for Prime Minister position and sent to the parliament for approval. If the tradition holds true, Dr Abiy will be the next Prime Minister of Ethiopia.

Dr Abiy Ahmed has comparatively good service record within EPRDF circle and is also well educated. He has served in the national army and has risen to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. He has a Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Engineering, post-graduate advanced diploma in Cryptology (encryption), MA in Transformational Leadership and Change and a Phd from the Institute for Peace and Security Studies at Addis University.