Abbay Media News
Yassin Ibrahim

The governments of the United States, Norway and and United Kingdom issued a press release on the repeated violation of the cease fire imposed on the warring factions in South Sudan.

The four years long warfare between the official Salva Kiir army and the rebellion Reik Machar fighters has taken its toll and have killed tens of thousands innocent civilians. Over a million people have also been displaced creating a refugee crisis for neighboring countries.

The last ceasefire deal was signed in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on Thursday December 21, 2017 but there is a reasonable fear this also may not be implemented by both parties. The parties have also come to an agreement to grant humanitarian access to conflict-ridden areas. United States, Norway and United Kingdom have issued warning to the warring factions that they will hold both leaders responsible for failing to implement the ceasefire agreement.

The youngest nation in the world has not seen piece since it became a sovereign country on July 09, 2011 due to the failure of power sharing agreement between president Salva Kiir and the then vice-president Riek Machar.